Open House is our yearly free networking event held every October. 

We invite everyone to join us for hors d'oeuvres and drinks to meet others in the San Diego science community.

The first Open House held by AWIS San Diego was in 2002. The purpose was to introduce our organization to the science community and to recruit new members by presenting our diverse events, activities and committees. It was a great success and has become one of the most important AWIS-San Diego events. Since 2003 the Open House is also our opportunity to recognize our most active and dedicated volunteers through the AWIS Awards.

The 15th annual AWIS-SD open house was held at Qualcomm on October 27, 2016. Open House 2016 was an excellent occasion to introduce AWIS-SD to the greater community, highlight our committees and activities, acknowledge our long-term members, and recognize the committed volunteers who contribute to our chapter’s success. AWIS-SD was very pleased that the silent auction raised over $700!


Congratulations to the 2016 AWIS-SD Volunteer Award recipients!:

Achievement in Innovation: Awarded to the Chapter member or committee who has initiated the best new idea to advance and enhance Chapter events.

      - Anne Kornahrens, Joanna Redfern, Robyn Wygal

Rookies of the Year: Awarded to new members who have been outstanding contributors to an AWIS committee

- Elizabeth Jacobs, Ksenya Cohen-Katsenelson

Achievement in Outreach or Community Service: Awarded to the Chapter member who, while acting on behalf of AWIS, has made a contribution to the San Diego community.

 - Kristin Bompiani-Myers, Miriam Cohen

Outstanding Volunteer: Awarded to a Chapter member who actively and enthusiastically participates in an AWIS committee

- Juliati Rahajeng, Melissa Scranton

Leadership Service: Awarded to the Chapter member whose leadership role has advanced the goals and visibility of the San Diego Chapter.

- Corine Lau, Sophie Muscat-King

Board Special Award: Awarded to the Chapter member(s) whom the AWIS-San Diego Board recognizes as exemplifying the AWIS-San Diego mission through excellence in leadership, community service, innovation, and promoting AWIS-San Diego.

- Eva Goellner, Eileen Collyer and Risa Broyer

President's Award: Awarded to a Chapter member who has demonstrated continued service and enthusiasm over many years.

- Dorothy Sears, Dominique Lenoir

 The Open House was a great success and we look forward to seeing everyone again next year!

Previous Years' Outstanding Volunteers

Go to top